State labor leaders begin terms as WSLC vice presidents

OLYMPIA (Feb. 6, 2023) — New four-year terms began last week for dozens of vice presidents of the Washington State Labor Council, AFL-CIO, the largest union organization in the state representing the interests of more than 600 union with some 550,000 rank-and-file members. They were sworn into office Feb. 2 at the WSLC’s first executive board meeting under the new leadership team of President April Sims and Secretary Treasurer Cherika Carter.

The vice presidents and executive officers together comprise the WSLC executive board, which establishes the organizations policies and priorities between annual conventions. By WSLC Constitution, 20 vice presidents are elected by district to the WSLC Executive Board. In addition, at-large vice presidents may be appointed by the board to represent the interests of the WSLC’s largest affiliated unions. AFL-CIO affiliated constituency groups also have vice presidents elected to represent their unique interests.

“Many of our vice presidents are leaders of their own local unions and councils, so their commitment of time, expertise and leadership is noteworthy, and a big reason why the Washington State Labor Council is so successful,” Sims said. “I sincerely thank all of these labor leaders for their participation, their service, and their efforts to build power for Washington’s working families.”

The following WSLC vice presidents began new four-year terms last week:

Sean Bagsby, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers
Katie Garrow, Laborers International Union of North America
Jon Holden, International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers
Jane Hopkins, Service Employees International Union
John Scearcy, International Brotherhood of Teamsters

Debbie Gath, International Brotherhood of Teamsters
Stacy Martin, Laborers’ International Union of North America

Clint Bryson, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers
Mark Riker, Sheet Metal Workers
Diana Winther, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers

Nick Bumpaous, United Association of Plumbers and Pipefitters
Eric Thrift, Laborers International Union of North America
Jessica Wadsworth, Laborers’ International Union of North America

Ted Cummings, United Steelworkers
Tina Morrison, American Federation of Musicians
James Tieken, American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees

Vance Lelli, American Federation of Musicians
Chuck Moe, Laborers International Union of North America
Patty Rose, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers


Robert Driskell, International Brotherhood of Teamsters
David Keepnews, Washington State Nurses Association
Daniel Peters, SPEEA/International Federation of Professional and Technical Engineers
Kurt Spiegel, Washington Federation of State Employees/AFSCME
Karen Strickland, AFT Washington
Janie White, Washington Education Association


Kevin Allen, Coalition of Black Trade Unionists
Michael Andrew, Pride at Work
Jo Blake, Coalition of Labor Union Women
Jackie Boschok, Alliance for Retired Americans
Ligaya Domingo, Asian Pacific American Labor Alliance
Gabriel Prawl
, A. Philip Randolph Institute
Connie Rodriguez, Labor Council For Latin American Advancement
Shaunie Wheeler James, Washington Young Emerging Labor Leaders

Exit mobile version