Connect with us


Nominate members, unions for WSLC’s 2023 labor awards

SEATTLE (June 6, 2023) — Each year at its annual convention, the Washington State Labor Council, AFL-CIO presents awards recognizing the efforts and accomplishments of specific union organizations and individual union members. At the WSLC’s 2023 Convention in SeaTac at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Seattle Airport on July 18-20, these awards will once again be presented to honor exceptional work within Washington’s labor movement.

So the WSLC is calling on its affiliated unions to submit names for consideration. The deadline for nominations for all awards is Monday, June 26. If you would like to send in a nomination for this year’s awards, please email your completed form to Willa Kamakahi at

Following are descriptions of the awards that will be presented for the WSLC’s 2023 Convention. (Follow the links to download nomination forms.)


The WSLC Mother Jones Award has been recognized for decades as the state labor movement’s award that recognizes our own members in their struggle for dignity and respect for all working men and women in our state. Traditionally, two awards are given, one to an individual and one to an organization. Candidates for the award will best exemplify the tradition of Mary “Mother” Jones’ immortal statement, “Mourn for the dead, but fight like hell for the living!”

In 2021, The organizational Mother Jones Award went to the workers at Industrial Container Services (ICS), who fought long and hard to join together in a union with Teamsters Local 117. The individual Mother Jones Award was given to Connie Kelliher, who retired after decades of service as Communications Director for IAM District 751.

The WSLC Economic Development and Transportation Committee reviews nominations and recommends recipients for this award to the WSLC Executive Board.


The WSLC Education, Training and Apprenticeship Committee gives an annual “Bruce Brennan Memorial Award” to the individual who has contributed the most to further the cause of apprenticeship, education and training in Washington state. In 2022, it was awarded to Caitlyn Jekel, former for Gov. Jay Inslee (and WSLC staffer) and current for the .


The WSLC Women’s Committee presents this award for the advancement of women in leadership roles and/or for activism on behalf of women within the labor movement. The Elsie Schrader Award honors the advancement of women in leadership roles and/or for activism on behalf of women within the labor movement. Last year, the Elsie Schrader Award went to Tina Morrison, a member and longtime officer of the Musicians (AFM) Local 105 and Secretary Treasurer of the Spokane Regional Labor Council For more information about this award, see the Elsie Schrader award criteria.


CHECK OUT THE UNION DIFFERENCE in Washington: higher wages, affordable health and dental care, job and retirement security.

FIND OUT HOW TO JOIN TOGETHER with your co-workers to negotiate for better wages, benefits, and a voice at work. Or go ahead and contact a union organizer today!