Connect with us


WSLC welcomes new Vice Presidents

Sterling Harders (SEIU 775) & Michael Hines (UFCW 367) join board

SEATTLE (May 17, 2024) — The Washington State Labor Council, AFL-CIO executive board voted Friday to appoint two new Vice Presidents to the board, Sterling Harders, SEIU 775 President and Michael Hines, UFCW 367 President.

The WSLC executive board is comprised of vice presidents and the WSLC executive officers, who together establish the organization’s policies and priorities between annual conventions. By WSLC Constitution, vice presidents are elected by region, selected by constituency groups, or appointed by the WSLC Executive Board to serve a term of up to four years.

Harders joins the board as an at-large Vice President, representing SEIU 775 members in Washington State. Hines joins the board as a Region Six Vice President, representing workers in Clallam, Kitsap, Jefferson, and Pierce counties.

“It’s an honor to welcome Sterling and Michael, and I look forward to having their leadership on the WSLC Executive Board,” said WSLC President April Sims. “These leaders join an active, engaged board that works hard to deliver for working folks in Washington. 2024 is filled with opportunities to grow worker power, and I’m excited to meet the moment with the support of our expanded Executive Board.”

SEIU 775 represents approximately 50,000 home healthcare workers in Washington, Montana and Alaska; UFCW 367 represents approximately 8,000 workers in Pierce, Mason, Thurston, Grays Harbor, Lewis, and Pacific.

The current WSLC Executive Board is as follows:

Sean Bagsby, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers
Katie Garrow, Laborers International Union of North America
Jon Holden, International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers
Jane Hopkins, Service Employees International Union
(Vacant position)

Karl de Jong, International Union of Painters and Allied Trades
and the International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees
Debbie Gath, International Brotherhood of Teamsters
Stacy Martin, Laborers’ International Union of North America

Clint Bryson, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers
Mark Riker, Sheet Metal Workers
Diana Winther, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers

Nick Bumpaous, United Association of Plumbers and Pipefitters
Eric Thrift, Laborers International Union of North America
Jessica Wadsworth, Laborers’ International Union of North America

Ted Cummings, United Steelworkers
Tina Morrison, American Federation of Musicians
James Tieken, American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees

Michael Hines, United Food and Commercial Workers
Vance Lelli, American Federation of Musicians
Chuck Moe, Laborers International Union of North America


Byron Allen, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers
Robert Driskell, International Brotherhood of Teamsters
Sterling Harders, Service Employees International Union
David Keepnews
, Washington State Nurses Association
Daniel Peters, SPEEA/International Federation of Professional and Technical Engineers
Dean Shelton, International Association of Fire Fighters
Kurt Spiegel, Washington Federation of State Employees/AFSCME
Karen Strickland, AFT Washington
Janie White, Washington Education Association


Kevin Allen, Coalition of Black Trade Unionists
Michael Andrew, Pride at Work
Jo Blake, Coalition of Labor Union Women
Jackie Boschok, Alliance for Retired Americans
Ligaya Domingo, Asian Pacific American Labor Alliance
Silvia Gonzalez, Casa Latina
Gabriel Prawl
, A. Philip Randolph Institute
Connie Rodriguez, Labor Council For Latin American Advancement
Shaunie Wheeler James, Washington Young Emerging Labor Leaders

CHECK OUT THE UNION DIFFERENCE in Washington: higher wages, affordable health and dental care, job and retirement security.

FIND OUT HOW TO JOIN TOGETHER with your co-workers to negotiate for better wages, benefits, and a voice at work. Or go ahead and contact a union organizer today!