Connect with us


McDermott, 38 others join UAW to stop science cuts

The following is from UAW Local 4121:

SEATTLE (Dec. 2, 2013) — Two United Auto Worker locals recently announced that 39 members of the House of Representatives have joined their effort to stop the sequester, the disastrous budgeting policy that indiscriminately cuts billions from federal research budgets, slowing the pace of innovation and forcing scientists around the country to walk away from promising projects. A letter signed by the 39 members was delivered to Speaker John Boehner and Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi. Read the full letter here.

repeal-sequestration-washingtonWorking with Congressmen George Miller of California and Jim McDermott of Washington, UAW Locals 5810 and 4121 urged members of Congress to voice their support for breakthrough scientific research by stopping these devastating budget cuts. UAW 5810 represents 6,000 postdoctoral researchers at the University of California, and UAW 4121 represents 4,000 academic student employees at the University of Washington.

“We are thrilled that so many members of Congress understand the importance of scientific research and the harm being done by the sequester,” said Neal Sweeney, President of UAW Local 5810. “As Congress moves towards its December budget deadline, we need to have a more rational discussion about making smart investments in our future — and that includes the frontline research that fosters innovation and keeps us the cutting edge. We are hopeful that this strong alliance can persuade others in the House to take up a common-sense budget that moves society forward.”

“We’re proud to stand with these members of Congress in opposing extremists who have been holding the budget process hostage,” said David Parsons, Local 4121 President. “We’re tired of seeing science and other key programs sacrificed for a legislative agenda that only favors the very wealthy.”

Joining Miller and McDermott on the letter are Suzan DelBene (WA-01), Rick Larsen (WA-02), Derek Kilmer (WA-06), Denny Heck (WA-10), Mark Takano (CA-41), Jared Huffman (CA-02), Zoe Lofgren (CA-19), Scott Peters (CA-52), Henry Waxman (CA-33), Barbara Lee (CA-13), Susan Davis (CA-53), John Garamendi (CA-03), Julia Brownley (CA-26), Ami Bera (CA-07), Sam Farr (CA-20), Gloria Negrete McLeod (CA-35), Anna Eshoo (CA-18), Doris Matsui (CA-06), Charles Rangel (NY-13), Brian Higgins (NY-26), Marc Veasey (TX-33), Carolyn Maloney (NY-12), Carol Shea-Porter (NH-01), Jim McGovern (MA-2), Allyson Schwartz (PA-13), Tim Ryan (OH-13), Michelle Lujan Grisham (NM-01), Louise Slaughter (NY-25), David Price (NC-04), Mark Pocan (WI-02), Joe Kennedy (MA-04), Raúl Grijalva (AZ-03), Alcee Hastings (FL-20), Federica Wilson (FL-24), Joyce Beatty (OH-03), Matt Cartwright (PA-17) and Rush Holt (NJ-12).

UAWTogether UAW 5810 and UAW 4121 represent more than 10,000 postdoctoral scholars and academic workers who perform some of the most sophisticated research in the world. Their contributions and discoveries move society forward in important ways — since 1990, nearly 1 in 5 FDA-approved medical advances — including 40 new cancer drugs — were invented in a federally-funded lab.

Learn more about UAW 4121 at

CHECK OUT THE UNION DIFFERENCE in Washington: higher wages, affordable health and dental care, job and retirement security.

FIND OUT HOW TO JOIN TOGETHER with your co-workers to negotiate for better wages, benefits, and a voice at work. Or go ahead and contact a union organizer today!