Connect with us


Check out labor’s 2015 election endorsements, VOTE TODAY!

Voter receiving ballot through mail

Union members and their families who are filling out election ballots: Here’s a guide to which candidates and ballot measures have earned labor’s endorsement.

The Washington State Labor Council, AFL-CIO, the state’s largest labor organization, has made the following endorsements (follow the links for information on why):

NO on Initiative 1366

Retain Rep. Carol Gregory, 30th Legislative District

Most of the races on this odd-year ballot are for city and county races, which are the jurisdictions of the regional AFL-CIO Central Labor Councils around the state. Following are the CLCs’ endorsements. (If you don’t see your county’s CLC listed here, contact them directly and/or contact your own local union to ask about any endorsements they may have made.)

Cowlitz-Wahkiakum Central Labor Council, AFL-CIO:

●  Jeff Wilson for Longview Port Commissioner, Pos. 1
●  Dale Barto for Kelso City Council, Pos. 4

M.L. King County Labor Council, AFL-CIO

North Central WA Central Labor Council, AFL-CIO:

●  Jerry Aamold for Fire Commissioner, Chelan Co. District 1
●  Rick McBride for Fire Commissioner, Douglas Co. District 2
●  Frank Kuntz for Mayor, City of Wenatchee
●  Mark Botello for Council Pos. 5, East Wenatchee
●  Rory Turner for Port of Chelan, Commissioner 3

Northwest WA Central Labor Council, AFL-CIO:

●  Joe Verdoes for Anacortes Port Commissioner, Dist. 3
●  John Pope for Anacortes Port Commissioner, Dist. 4
●  April Barker for Bellingham City Council, Ward 1
●  Gary Jensen and Bobby Briscoe (dual) for Bellingham Port Commission, Dist. 3
●  Satpal Sidhu for Whatcom County Council, Dist. 3
●  Jill Boudreau for Mayor of Mount Vernon

Pierce County Central Labor Council, AFL-CIO

Southwest WA Central Labor Council, AFL-CIO

Snohomish County Labor Council, AFL-CIO:

●  John Lovick for Snohomish County Executive
●  Brian Sullivan for Snohomish County Council
●  Linda Helje for Snohomish County Assessor
●  Mike Nelson for Edmonds City Council
●  Michael Boe for Lake Stevens City Council
●  YES on Proposition 1 (Transportation Benefit District)

Spokane Regional Labor Council, AFL-CIO:

●  Ben Stuckart for Spokane City Council President
●  Randy Ramos for Spokane City Council, Dist. 1
●  Lori Kinnear for Spokane City Council, Dist. 2
●  Karen Stratton for Spokane City Council, Dist. 3

Thurston-Lewis-Mason Counties Labor Council, AFL-CIO:

●  Marco Rossi for Mayor, City of Olympia
●  Judy Bardin and Jessica Bateman (dual) for Olympia City Council, Position 2
●  George L. Barner Jr. for Port of Olympia, District 1
●  Elizabeth (E.J.) Zita for Port of Olympia, District 3

Yakima Central Labor Council, AFL-CIO:

●  Dulce Gutierrez for Yakima City Council, District 1
●  Avina Gutierrez for Yakima City Council, District 2
●  Holly Cousens for Yakima City Council, District 7

CHECK OUT THE UNION DIFFERENCE in Washington: higher wages, affordable health and dental care, job and retirement security.

FIND OUT HOW TO JOIN TOGETHER with your co-workers to negotiate for better wages, benefits, and a voice at work. Or go ahead and contact a union organizer today!