The Stand

WSLC honoring past recipients of Elsie Schrader Award

(March 31, 2021) — As Women’s History Month draws to a close this week, the Washington State Labor Council, AFL-CIO is honoring some of the women who have received its Elsie Schrader Award. (Check out and follow the WSLC on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.) The WSLC Women’s Committee presents this award each year at the WSLC Convention for advancing women in union leadership roles and/or for activism on behalf of women within the labor movement.

Here is a quick slideshow featuring some of these Elsie Schrader Award winners, accompanied by some labor women — whose voices you might recognize — reading the Maya Angelou poem, “Still I Rise.”

This year’s Elsie Schrader Award winner will be honored at the WSLC’s 2021 Convention to be held virtually on July 21-23.The WSLC will be accepting nominations for the award in the coming weeks. The convention call, including details and instructions for delegate credentials, will be mailed to all WSLC-affiliated unions 90 days prior to convention.

Save the dates and stay tuned for details!

Short URL:

Posted by on Mar 31 2021. Filed under W.S.L.C.. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed

Log in | Designed by Gabfire themes