Connect with us


King Co. labor celebrates at Labor Oscars

Union supporters gathered Friday to celebrate movement leaders 

SEATTLE, Wash. (May 14, 2024) — King County union members, leaders and allies gathered on Friday, May 10 to celebrate the work of the labor movement over the past year at Labor Oscars. The event was held at the new union-built and operated Seattle Convention Center Summit which opened in 2023.

Labor Oscars celebrated the people who have done outstanding work to improve the lives of working people in King County. More than 100 people were nominated for 11 Labor Oscar awards. The MLK Labor Board served as the “Academy” by selecting winners. The finalists for each category were recognized at the event to heavy applause.

IBEW 46’s Sean Bagsby and MLK Labor’s Corina Yballa & Shaunie Wheeler-James

The awards began by honoring the Asian Pacific American Labor Alliance (APALA, AFL-CIO) as the Ally of the Year for their work turning people out for actions and events. Natasha Crepeau of UAW 4121 won a close vote for Best Shop Steward. The event concluded with Sean Bagsby of IBEW 46 winning Best Principal Officer and Terri Mast (Inlandboatmen’s Union) and Leonard Smith (Teamsters 117) taking home the Lifetime Achievement award.

Seattle SAG-AFTRA President and KIRO 7 reporter Deborah Horne served as the emcee for the awards ceremony.

Leonard Smith (IBT 117), Terri Mast (Inlandboatman’s Union) and MLK Labor’s Corina Yballa & Katie Garrow

The full list of Labor Oscars winners were as follows:

Ally of the Year –  Asian Pacific American Labor Alliance (APALA, AFL-CIO)

Best Rally – City of Seattle Coalition of Unions Rally for Respect

Best Union Employer – Climate Pledge Arena

Best Organizing Campaign – Virginia Mason, SEIU Healthcare 1199NW

Best Strike – Macy’s, UFCW 3000

Best Elected Official – Bruce Harrell, Seattle Mayor

Best Shop Steward Natasha Crepeau, UAW 4121

Union Activist of the Year – Diana Noinala, IAM 751

Best Principal Officer – Sean Bagsby, IBEW 46

Delegate of the Year – Virgilio Goze, Letter Carriers Branch 79

Lifetime Achievement Award – Terri Mast, Inlandboatmen’s Union and Leonard Smith, Teamsters 117

CHECK OUT THE UNION DIFFERENCE in Washington: higher wages, affordable health and dental care, job and retirement security.

FIND OUT HOW TO JOIN TOGETHER with your co-workers to negotiate for better wages, benefits, and a voice at work. Or go ahead and contact a union organizer today!