The Stand

Submit your nominations for WSLC’s 2017 labor awards

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

(April 5, 2017) — Each year at its annual convention, the Washington State Labor Council, AFL-CIO presents awards recognizing the efforts and accomplishments of specific union organizations and individual union members. As the deadlines for award nominations approach, the WSLC is calling on its affiliated unions to submit names for consideration.

The 2017 WSLC Convention will be July 18-20 at the Hilton Vancouver. A Convention Call with more details about the convention, including how many delegates/alternates each union can send, will be mailed later this month to all WSLC-affiliated/chartered organizations. Rank-and-file members are urged to contact their local unions for information about how to attend and serve as a convention delegate or alternate.

Here are the awards that will be presented at the 2017 WSLC Convention, plus nomination forms for affiliated unions to submit names for consideration:


The WSLC Mother Jones Award has been recognized for decades as the state labor movement’s award that recognizes our own members in their struggle for dignity and respect for all working men and women in our state. Traditionally, two awards are given, one to an individual and one to an organization. Candidates for the award will best exemplify the tradition of Mary “Mother” Jones’ immortal statement, “Mourn for the dead, but fight like hell for the living!”

The WSLC Economic Development and Transportation Committee reviews nominations and recommends recipients for this award to the WSLC Executive Board. Download a nomination form. The deadline for nominations is June 1. If you have questions about this award, contact EDT Committee staff liaison Bill Messenger via email or at 360-943-0608.


The WSLC Women’s Committee presents this award for the advancement of women in leadership roles and/or for activism on behalf of women within the labor movement. Download a nomination form., which includes additional information on the criteria for award nominees. The deadline for nominations is June 1. If you have questions about this award, contact Women’s Committee staff liaison April Sims (via email) at 206-281-8901.


Brady Hansen, an IBEW Local 77 Journeyman Lineman at Avista Utilities, received the 2016 Bruce Brennan Award.

The WSLC Education, Training and Apprenticeship Committee gives an annual “Bruce Brennan Memorial Award” to the individual who has contributed the most to further the cause of apprenticeship, education and training in Washington state. Download a nomination form. The deadline for nominations is June 1. If you have questions about this award, contact the WSLC’s Caitlyn Jekel (via email) at 360-943-0608.

Feel free to submit nomination forms electronically to Jan Hays via email or call her at 206-281-8901 if you have any questions.

Short URL:

Posted by on Apr 5 2017. Filed under W.S.L.C.. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed



Washington state is UNION STRONG!

CLICK HERE to find out why, and how YOU can get started forming a Union at your workplace!

Log in | Designed by Gabfire themes